Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

Thank you to Cheri Lucas Rowlands for this weeks photo challenge: Descent.

“This week, show us your interpretation of descent — experiment with your point of view and angle, or go even deeper with the theme.”

I took this photo in 2007 while hiking with my husband in the Lake Tahoe area of Nevada with my first digital camera. I’m ashamed to say, I don’t even remember what type it was. I do remember that it was an older, used camera and in my price range.

The way dowwwnnnn was really something!

2007 Lake Tahoe area - Descent

By mid 2008, when I took this next photo, I had bought a Canon G9, which I still use today.

This is Riomaggiore, Italy, where everything descends steeply to the sea; the land and rock, the terraces and walkways, the buildings and the people, all converging toward the sea. I was so fortunate to have visited this absolutely beautiful place and hope to return some day.

Riomaggiore 2008
My approach to photography has been intuitive rather than technique or technology driven. Although I have an art background, my photography education has consisted of only one one-day workshop,  a bit of reading here and there, fiddling with my camera, and experimenting with GIMP.

Because of this lack of learning and proficiency, I’ve enrolled in WordPress’s Photography 101 which starts tomorrow. I’m hoping to become more knowledgeable about this way of seeing, capturing, and creating that I have come to so enjoy!

Wishing you well all week!

Blessings,
Terry

 

2 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Descent

I'd love to know your thoughts!

