Photography 101: Architecture

The theme for day twelve of Photography 101 is Architecture.

“Study architectural forms, and also… Train your eye to look for architectural elements that translate in black and white: sharp lines and patterns, defined shapes, large surface areas, and a mix of very light and very dark colors.”

Since I wasn’t able to get away from home today, I was tempted to dig something medieval or urban from my archives, something perhaps more impressive than the photo I’ve posted. I decided against this because I wanted to take a photo with the day’s theme actually in mind.

In my neighborhood there’s not a lot of architectural drama, so I settled for a neighbor’s porch rails and shadow.

Porch rails

2 thoughts on “Photography 101: Architecture

    1. Try it now. I had trouble setting the image as the featured image and also have it appear in the body of the post. Please let me know if you can see it now. It appears to be OK on my computer. Thank you!

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts!

