Photography 101: Moment

The theme for day thirteen of Photography 101: Moment, was difficult for me.

“Capture a fleeting moment and experiment with blur and movement.”

I started out with my neighbor’s chickens and guinea hen, and then graduated to my dog.

For the first three photos I had the camera set on automatic. For the fourth photo I got brave and set it to manual. Manual yielded much better results.

# 1) Guinea hen on the run. Camera set on automatic.
Guinea Hen

# 2) Fancy chicken strutting and bobbing. Camera set on automatic.
Fancy Chicken

# 3) My dog leaping onto the back porch. Camera set on automatic.
Leap

# 4) Then I finally set the camera on manual… Yay! Motion blur!

I set the aperture, shutter speed, and ISO for the light in the backyard before I threw the stick. It was tough to make the toss and then grab the camera dangling from my neck to get the shot! 🙂

I think this last photo is the most successful shot of the four. What do you think?
Fetch

I’ll be revisiting adjusting aperture, shutter speed and ISO to practice capturing blur, but maybe not until it warms up a bit. (We’ve had a cold snap here in the Hudson Valley with the wind whipping up and temperatures dipping into the teens.) When I do, I’ll follow the tips presented with today’s theme

Tip: Movement is a great way to convey time and fleetingness. If you’d like to play with motion, try the following:

For all cameras and cameraphones:
Turn your auto-flash off, even in low-light conditions. While photographing moving subjects, use a tripod or lay your device on a surface to keep it still.

Experiment with panning: pan your camera across your scene while following your moving subject. It takes practice, but if done right you can produce images with clear subjects against blurred backgrounds.

For cameras with manual settings:
Slow down your shutter speed (meaning, keep the shutter open longer): when the shutter is open longer, your subject has more time to move across the frame, creating a blur effect. This can lead to overexposure, especially during the day, as you’re letting in more light to take a picture. To compensate, close your aperture (the size of the opening) more and use a higher f-stop number, or adjust to a lower ISO.

Alternatively, set your camera to “shutter priority mode,” so you can set your shutter speed, but let the camera auto-select other settings, like the aperture, to ensure proper exposure.

6 thoughts on “Photography 101: Moment

  1. Personally like the first photo with the chicken simply because it made me smile. I do like the last photo, your dog was so happy to have the stick his tail is wagging super fast! I am excited to try these tips with a stream or waterfall and see what happens!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your feedback. 🙂 The last photo captures the motion blur the best, but The first photo makes me smile as well. What a funny looking bird, that guinea hen! Looks prehistoric and sounds prehistoric as well.
      My dog is always happy to chase a stick! It took me several tries before I got a good picture with her facing me. She got a good work out and enjoyed some fun in the process. 🙂
      If you try those tips with a stream or waterfall, you will probably get a nice soft flow look rather than a water frozen in time look. If you do try it out, stop back here and post the link so I can see how it turns out! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I was pretty excited when I saw it… And kind of happy to say OK, I’m done with that. I was really cold. I had taken my coat off to keep the dog’s muddy paws off of it in her exuberance. I couldn’t manage the camera, the stick, and trying to keep some semblance of doggie manners all at once. The old jeans and sweatshirt can easily go in the wash, but the light blue snow coat could have suffered permanent muddy damage!
      … And that guinea hen! What a goofy looking bird! 🙂 it does look like it’s dancing!

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know your thoughts!

