Writing 201: Trust

“Day 3 is here — and so are questions of trust, acrostics, and internal rhymes.”

The poetry prompt for day three of Writing 201 is “Trust.”

The form is “Acrostic.”

The device is “Internal Rhyme.”

Dark winter sky with light.
Knapps View, Chester, NY, 2015.

 

trusting day will follow night

right when things are darkest,

under any circumstances, no matter fear or plight,

sight seeking optimism, spirit

turned toward ever-present light.

 

When I wrote this poem I did, of course, purposely begin each line so that the first letters of each would vertically spell the word “trust,” but I hadn’t intended for each line to end with a “t.” I noticed this after I had finished writing. It somehow seems fitting that a poem about trust evolved with such consistency since trust is elicited by consistency.

 

As an aside… I used the code below, in the text editor of my post, to make the first letters of each line larger and bold…

<span style=”font-size: X-LARGE; line-height: 1.4;”><strong>my letter choice</strong></span>the rest of my text.

To make the last letter of each line bold, I simply highlighted the letter and used the bold option in the visual editor.

10 thoughts on “Writing 201: Trust

  1. I love the accompanying photo. And thanks for explaining how you made the first letter of each line stand out (I’m htmlly challenged. I also like your explanation that every line just happened to end in t. Isn’t it great how the unconscious helps us along with such things?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, and you’re welcome! I found the code on a WordPress forum somewhere. I should have bookmarked the link!
      … And , yes it is very cool when the unconscious, our intuition, comes into play… pleasant surprises happen 🙂

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts!

