Writing 201:Poetry Potluck

Our Weekend assignment for Writing 201 is Poetry Potluck.

“Forget brunch. This weekend, let’s share our favorite poems with each other.”

There are many different poems that I love, but the one that popped into my head immediately to share for this assignment was the Dr. Seuss poem “Oh, The Places You’ll Go.” Then just as quickly it was followed by another thought, “You can’t do that! It will seem silly or bizarre in the eyes of all those amazing WordPress poets!”

Well, the thought persisted all weekend, perhaps because I’m able to share the poem with such a creative video that won “Best Short” in the New Media Film Festival, Los Angeles, CA. The video was created by Ted Saunders in 2011 and filmed at Burning Man in the Black Rock Dessert of Northern Nevada. Wikipedia describes Burning Man “…as an experiment in community, art, radical self-expression, and radical self-reliance.”

How could I resist posting this awesome short film, made with grown-ups in mind, to share with you an awesome children’s poem? I say children’s poem, but I’ve always admired Dr. Seuss because he often conveys great truths in a way that both children and adults find understandable and enjoyable. When reading his books to my own kids, years ago, I wondered if he was writing for them or me, the adult cuddled beside them. He conveys his meaning uniquely and with his own signature style.

Serious poets might look askance at me for my choice here, but I’m sharing this poem, this particular enactment of this poem, for my own visual and phonemic pleasure. I hope you enjoy it as well!

5 thoughts on “Writing 201:Poetry Potluck

I'd love to know your thoughts!

