Writing 201: Fingers

“It’s Day 7. Time to think about vowels, with your fingers. Prosaically.”

The poetry prompt for day seven of Writing 201 is “fingers.”
The form is “prose.”
The device is “assonance.”

My husband and oldest son are potters so guess what I’ve written about today!

The Potter’s Hands

Fingers moving through mud, sliding over the surface, shaping. Pressuring first, then gliding openness. Encouraging growth, upward, outward, from the center. Conjuring form from the formless.  Subtly nudging, guiding the nameless to become something with a name. Something useful and cherished. A treasure born of the potter’s gentle caress.


Click on an image to see it larger.

To see, handle, admire or purchase the work of my son, Andy, and husband, Ray, you can visit our family business, the Bostree Studio and Gallery, in Sugar Loaf, NY.

Words and pictures
Copyright © Terry Boswell

8 thoughts on “Writing 201: Fingers

  1. I enjoyed your piece, both in words and pictures, very much. It’s really neat to see the process of shaping the pot even as you’re describing it in your poem. Great collaboration!

    Btw, it’s great to connect here … I read your “about this blog” piece and totally relate to wanting to experiment, express myself , and connect with other writers and artists. –Suzanne

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I always feel more comfortable with pictures than I do with words, but I have a hope to use them together more often in a way that will evoke a feeling or tell a story.
      I have been blogging since September and have found the WordPress community to be full of creative, supportive people. It’s been a lot of fun seeing what others are doing and connecting.
      I enjoyed reading a few of your poems on your blog and will visit again for more! 🙂

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts!

