One Word Photo Challenge: Teal

Tranquil dark lake,

still mirror, reflects and floats

leaf, twig and water lily.

Copyright © 2015 Terry Boswell

Lily pads and fall reflected in water.
Lily pads and fall reflected in water.
Lily pads and fall reflected in water.

I included this image cropped three different ways. I like the first version best because it excludes areas that were overexposed, in the branches, red tree, and rocks, shown in the second version. I also like the abstract quality of the first photo. The way the image is blurred where the water is disturbed, at the top of the photo, and then progresses to clarity where the water is smooth and still lower down, adds interest to the composition that the third version lacks.

Which version do you prefer?

This post is my response to the One Word Photo Challenge: Teal. Thank you Jennifer for the challenge!

It’s also my response to the Photography 101 prompt: Experiment with Composition.

And it’s my fourth post in the Five Days Challenge. I was invited by Amy, from Snapshots, Snippets And Scribbles to participate in the challenge, and for each of the five days I’m supposed to invite one person.

Today I’m inviting Terri from The Beespeak… If you would like to participate, post a photo every day for five days and write a story to go along with each photo. I’ve written a haiku for today, but your stories can be fiction or non-fiction. They can be short paragraphs, multiple pages, or poems. Each day, please invite one person to carry on the challenge. The challenge is not mandatory and can be refused. I hope you accept and have fun!

14 thoughts on “One Word Photo Challenge: Teal

    1. Thank you! I like the first and third better than the second. The areas that are blown out in the second disappointed me. I took the photo a few years ago and if I remember correctly, the range of light fell out of the histogram no matter how I set the camera. To get the light perfectly I would have had to take two photos using different settings and then merge them in the computer… this is still beyond my skill level!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s funny but I like the second too. Maybe my bad eyesight obfuscates the light imperfections!
        It’s a lot of work to redo a photo using post processing.
        I started learning Lightroom using a trial version but I’m way beyond knowing how to use it correctly. Besides, I don’t have photoshop.
        I still prefer old style photography with few things edited than a total ‘facelift’.
        A friend of mob is a media producer and she tells me that many famous and expensive photographers hardly spend time making the shot as the real photo is made afterwards in the computer. They have a crew of experts just remaking photos. Not real.
        Well, maybe I’m old fashioned.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. The blown out areas are a lot more noticeable when the image is full size. If I have this printed over a certain size, those areas will look like blank paper. I do like the composition of the second one though.
          I use Gimp (free and almost as good as photoshop) to do some light editing… crop, contrast, brightness and a bit of sharpening so it looks good printed at various sizes or on the web, and resize, so I don’t upload huge images. More extensive editing is beyond me at the moment, and , like you, I don’t really care for it. I would eventually like to learn how to merge two different exposures of the same view, because sometimes the camera doesn’t have the capability to catch what the eye can see, so combining two images gives an end result closer to reality even though more editing is done. I like to present what I see and tweak it only just enough to have it look its best on paper or a screen… Still much to learn about shooting and editing!

          Liked by 1 person

          1. I thought you may want to know about Pxrl a free editor where you have a possibility to merge two different exposures. I used once with a photo of the moon and the result was pretty.
            I also use pic monkey which is also free.
            The post processing features you mentioned are similar to those I use.
            I haven’t yet learned all that is possible to do with these editing tools.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Thank you for the suggestions. I’ll check them out! Like you, I need to more thoroughly learn what I have. To merge two exposures I’ll have to get more proficient with layers. Right now my use of layers is predominantly limited to creating and adding my watermark to photos.
            Thanks again for the info!

            Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re welcome. I look forward to seeing and reading what you post, but don’t rush or stress 🙂
      Yes, I agree, the third photo is the most serene, perhaps because it’s more monochromatic with less color distractions.

      Like

  1. I love all of these. I think I’m drawn to the 3rd most. It allows my eyes to move about the water lilies without distraction- they’re so perfectly spaced and colored, it almost looks like a painting. And yet, I can still see what’s on land from the reflection.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know your thoughts!

