Backyard Blooms

These tiny, sweet, wild daisies have made an appearance in my backyard for two years in a row now. I hope they return next summer.DSC02075-2cp-small-white-daisies-terry-boswell-wm Bright orange marigolds always bring a smile to my face so I make sure to plant some every year.DSC02092-3cp-orange-marigold-wm Chicory, a common roadside wildflower in the Hudson Valley of NY is always a welcome summer visitor. Wherever it pops up, I let it grow!DSC02094-3-chicory-bloom-wm

This post includes my belated responses to three of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenges: White Flowers, Yellow or Orange Flowers, and Blue or Purple flowers.

6 thoughts on “Backyard Blooms

  1. A beautiful pop of colour on another grey January morning! I didn’t know those purply flowers were chicory. I see them everywhere in late summer – or something similar to them – and have called them simply purple flowers! Nice that I can finally give them a real name 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It has been a very brown and muddy winter here in New York’s Hudson Valley, with only a few days of white snow cover. I’m hoping for snow cover with blue sky above! … Chicory often grows along the sides of the road. It’s a fairly common plant in my area, but still one of my favorites. I love the color of the flowers, and the roots can be roasted and used as a decaffeinated coffee substitute. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

I'd love to know your thoughts!

