Allen Street Crossing Delancey

Sometimes there’s something I see in one of my photos when it’s large on a computer screen that I missed in real life. I’m not usually visually unaware, so perhaps this is because I’m nearsighted. Then again, perhaps I become so focused on certain aspects of a scene that I miss others.

I was trotting along to get myself across Allen Street and catch up with my family when I stopped to take this photo on a cold day at the end of December. As I was rushing across the street, I glanced to my left and saw this… DSC00100-2-allen-st-crossing-delancy-3x2-terry-boswell-wm

The camera hanging around my neck begged to come out from under my coat.

I was taken with the curve of the bike path, the straightness of the walkway, the orange “No Pedestrians” sign, the street lights beginning to glow in the dimming light, and the center line of trees, along with the buildings on either side receding to a vanishing point.

What I missed that day was the Empire State Building slightly to the left of the vanishing point.

If I had seen it, perhaps I could have gotten a quality shot of Allen Street crossing Delancey instead of this version which I cropped from the photo above.

DSC00100-2-allen-st-crossing-delancy-3x2cp-zm-terry-boswell-wm

Then again, maybe I wouldn’t have. I had left the zoom lens, along with its extra bulk and weight, behind thinking I wouldn’t need it being hemmed in by large buildings without a panorama in sight!

What about you? Have you ever found something in one of your photos that you didn’t see when you took it? Have you ever intentionally left behind a piece of equipment and then regretted it later?

To see another photo that includes a little surprise that I initially missed, click here.

This post is in response to Cee’s Which Way Challenge: 2015 Week #10. Thank you Cee!

I’m also including it in Lucile De Godoy’s Photo 101 Rehab Clinic. Thank you Lucile!

2 thoughts on “Allen Street Crossing Delancey

  1. It is a very beautiful photo, worthy the chilly weather.
    Yes to all your questions. I often discover more in the computer screen, also because I had a bad eyesight even wearing glasses due to an issue with my eye corneas, which prevent me from focusing well.
    For some reason I still need to find out, my raw photos cover a bigger area than the JPEG version, and that helps me often to discover other things that can be added to the composition.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I was having a day out with my family, trying not to irritate them with my photography habit, but still trying to capture as many shots as possible! 🙂
      My raw images are also slightly larger. I’m not sure, but I think when the camera processes them to jpg the image gets smaller while correcting some lens distortion… At least with my camera, that’s what it looks like. My raw images have a bit of a curve to the horizon that the jpgs don’t, but I couldn’t say that this is the definitive reason.
      I guess in both our cases, poor eyesight makes for pleasant surprises. Isn’t it funny that we’re drawn so heavily to using our eyes in spite of our poor vision!

      Like

I'd love to know your thoughts!